This project has moved. For the latest updates, please go here.

Extension Methods - How to upload / suggest for the project

Mar 14, 2013 at 6:10 PM
Hey,
I'm new to CodePlex, so please forgive the ignorance. Our team has been working with SharpKml and has wanted some additional functionality for common tasks. To keep the source pure, I've been adding extension methods. I figure that they could be useful to other users, and I'm interested in contributing them back to the project (perhaps under a different namespace users can import).

How do I go about requesting to join the project or otherwise submitting suggestions?

PS: I'm including a couple examples below. These are all works in progress - I would clean them up before submitting.
/// <summary>
/// Gets the style information for this placemark of type T.
/// </summary>
/// <typeparam name="T">The type of style information requested (e.g. IconStyle)</typeparam>
/// <param name="placemark"></param>
/// <returns></returns>
public static T GetStyle<T>(this Placemark placemark) where T : ColorStyle
{
    if (placemark.StyleSelector != null)
    {
        //attempt to find a style of type T in this style selector
        StyleSelector s = placemark.StyleSelector;
        //Debug.Log("Got a style selector: " + s.GetType());
        if (s is Style)
        {
            PropertyInfo[] pInfos = typeof(Style).GetProperties(BindingFlags.DeclaredOnly | BindingFlags.Public | BindingFlags.Instance);
            foreach (PropertyInfo pInfo in pInfos)
            {
                if (pInfo.PropertyType == typeof(T))
                {
                    T style = (T)pInfo.GetValue((s as Style), null);
                    return style;
                }
            }
        }
        //should implement for other kinds of styleselectors...
    }

//nothing found
    return null;
}

/// <summary>
/// Removes all style information of a given type (e.g. IconStyle or LabelStyle)
/// </summary>